The Government Scientists Group (GSG) is a forum for Australian Government departments and agencies with a science capability to share information and discuss science and technology issues. The GSG aims to coordinate and build awareness of shared contributions to the national science agenda.

The GSG meets formally four times per year, with additional work coordinated out of session.

GSG meetings are chaired by Australia’s Chief Scientist and are held virtually or in person, as appropriate.

The GSG membership includes the Chief Scientist or equivalent representative, in relation to science and technology, from the following departments or agencies:

  • Australia’s Chief Scientist (Chair);
  • Australian Antarctic Division;
  • Australian Bureau of Statistics;
  • Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research;
  • Australian Federal Police;
  • Australian Institute of Marine Science;
  • Australian Sports Commission;
  • Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority;
  • Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation;
  • Australian Space Agency;
  • Bureau of Meteorology;
  • Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation;
  • Defence Science and Technology Group;
  • Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry;
  • Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water
  • Geoscience Australia;
  • Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority;
  • IP Australia;
  • National Measurement Institute;
  • Office of National Intelligence;
  • Questacon;
  • Sport Integrity Australia; and
  • Therapeutic Goods Administration.