Australia's Chief Scientist

National Science and Technology Council

The National Science and Technology Council is responsible for providing advice to the Prime Minister and other Ministers on important science and technology issues facing Australia.

The Prime Minister Scott Morrison and Minister for Industry, Science and Technology, the Hon Karen Andrews MP, announced the new Council on 28 November 2018:

The Council is Chaired by the Prime Minister, with the Minister for Industry, Science and Technology as Deputy Chair. Australia’s Chief Scientist, Dr Alan Finkel, is the Executive Officer. The Chief Executive of the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) serves as an ex officio member. The six appointed scientific expert members of the Council are:

Professor Genevieve Bell
Professor Barbara Howlett
Professor Geordie Williamson
Professor Debra Henly
Professor Brian Schmidt
Professor Ian Frazer

Further detail about the council’s membership and operations can be found in the Terms of Reference.


Previous science advice councils

To access the former Commonwealth Science Council Communique archive, click here.

To access the former Prime Minister’s Science Engineering and Innovation Council archive, click here.