Australian Science Policy Fellowship Program

Australian Science Policy Fellowship program


Science Policy Fellowship 2021-22 Cohort

Applications for the 2022-23 cohort of the Fellowship program closed on 21 March 2022.

Sign up to receive updates about the Program.

The Australian Science Policy Fellowship Program is an initiative of the Office of the Chief Scientist which aims to grow the diversity of expertise in the Australian Public Service (APS) workforce. It provides a pathway for early-to-mid career scientists to become skilled policy practitioners so that they can be conduits for bringing scientific expertise into government functions.

Fellows are employed as policy officers by participating Australian Government host departments for 12 months. The Fellows bring a highly valued skillset, including data and analytical skills, and fresh perspectives on policy work.

They receive on-the-job training in, and exposure to a range of government functions. Fellows are also supported by the Office of the Chief Scientist, have access to mentors, and are provided with a range of unique opportunities, including networking. As a pathway program into the APS, participation in the program means Fellows become equipped to seek permanent employment in the public service, if that is their wish.

The 2021-22 cohort is the first cohort of the permanent program, following a successful three‑year pilot. Launched in July 2018, the program has placed 46 Science Policy Fellows across 12 Australian Government departments. The vast majority of Fellows have subsequently moved into positions within the APS since completing the Fellowship program.

Participants in the 2021-22 cohort began in their host departments in July 2021. Fellows are working in diverse policy areas, such as the International  Climate and Technology Branch in the Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources; Medical Devices and Product Quality in the Department of Health; Research Programs and Policy in the Department of Education, Skills and Employment; and Plant Systems & Strategies in the Department of Agriculture, Water and Environment.

There is more information and resources below, including profiles of the Science Policy Fellows who have been part of the program.

Previous Australian Science Policy Fellows