Past Chief Scientists

Dr Alan Finkel AO is Australia’s eighth Chief Scientist.

The position of Australia’s Chief Scientist was first established in 1989 with the appointment of Ralph Slatyer.The full listing of Australia’s Chief Scientiststo date isasfollows:

  • Alan Finkel (2016-present)
  • Ian Chubb (2011-2015)
  • Penny Sackett (2008-2011)
  • Jim Peacock (2006-2008)
  • Robin Batterham (1999-2005)
  • John Stocker (1996-1999)
  • Michael Pitman (1992-1996)
  • Ralph Slatyer (1989-1992)

Speeches and other publications by some previous Chief Scientists can be accessed by clicking on their name in the list above.