Australia's Chief Scientist

ARTICLE: Forum of Australian Chief Scientists

The growing role that science and innovation play in boosting the Tasmanian economy was highlighted as Hobart hosted the Forum of Australian Chief Scientists on 13 May, 2016.

It was Dr Finkel’s first visit to Tasmania, as well as his first forum, since commencing as Chief Scientist in January.

The Forum of Australian Chief Scientists was an open discussion where each participant shared their strategic vision.

The meeting was held just weeks after the CSIRO announced it will establish a Climate Science Centre in Hobart with a core capability of 40 full-time scientists.

“There is a growing critical mass of scientific excellence in Tasmania. The state is playing an increasingly important role in climate science and is a clear leader in demonstrating how to deliver a low emissions energy mix,” Dr Finkel said.

Dr Finkel also visited major scientific facilities in Hobart and delivered an evening public lecture titled Science and Innovation for the Third Millennium at the CCAMLR Secretariat in the centre of the city.

IMAS Tour -  FACS Forum

Photo taken at the University of Tasmania’s Institute of Marine and Antarctic Studies, Hobart. From left to right: Terry Lyons1 , Brigid Heywood2 , Graham Webb3 , Leonie Walsh4 , Graham Hawke5 , Denzil Miller6 , Will Howard7 , Alan Finkel8 , Chris Armstrong9 , Roslyn Prinsley10  , Tony Worby11 and Nick Gales12.

[1] Assoc. Prof of Science Education, Queensland University of Technology [2] Deputy Vice Chancellor-Research, University of Tasmania, [3] Managing Director, Wildlife Management International and Chief Scientist of NT, [4] Lead Scientist of Victoria, [5] Deputy Director, Bureau of Meteorology, [6] Director, Antarctic, Tasmania and Science Research at Department of State Growth and Chief Scientist of Tasmania, [7] Science Leader, Office of the Chief Scientist, [8] Australia’s Chief Scientist, [9] Director, Office of the Chief Scientist and Engineer, NSW (representing Mary O’Kane, Chief Scientist of NSW), [10] National Adviser, Science and Mathematics Education and Industry, Office of the Chief Scientist, [11] CEO, Antarctic Climate & Ecosystems Cooperative Research Centre, [12] Director, Australian Antarctic Division