Australia's Chief Scientist

Ex-officio roles of the Chief Scientist

Australia’s Chief Scientist participates in a number of advisory committees and expert advisory panels at the discretion of Government in an ex-officio capacity. These include:

  • Commonwealth Science Council (CSC)
  • National Science, Technology and Research Committee (NSTRC)
  • Innovation Australia
  • Strengthened Export Controls Steering Group
  • Forum of Australian Chief Scientists
  • Climate Change Authority
  • PM Science Prizes Committee
  • Commonwealth State and Territory Advisory Council on Innovation (CSTACI)
  • Research Infrastructure Working Group
  • Patron of Science Industry Australia Ltd (SIA)
  • Sub-committee of the Royal Botanic Gardens & Domain Trust Bicentenary Advisory Committee (Lachlan Macquarie Medal)
  • National Science Colloquium
  • National Electricity Market review